On the Road Again

Oh my goodness would I get in trouble for that title lol. I think I sang every traveling song you could imagine along the trip. Yes folks that means that I’m on the road again. Well not tonight but last night we were. We finally left Georgia around 9pm last night and we arrived in IN at about 11am this morning.

It was a little rocky starting out. We actually had a LONG day before leaving with the truck being in the garage most of the day for a good thorough once over. Apparently it wasn’t thorough enough because about 3 hours down the road the engine began knocking. Low and behold we were out of oil. We parked in a rest area and Johnny and I walked a mile back up the highway to a gas station, at 2am no less, to get oil. On our way back a very nice lady took pity on us and gave us a ride to the rest area. Of course if I hadn’t been ON the cell phone with Carrie at the time I may not have taken the ride but exhaustion and the fact that this was a small older woman and I was ON the phone led me to accept.

After that we checked the oil at every gas stop we made and every time it needed more. So needless to say we are going to be having a mechanic take ANOTHER look at the truck while we are here.

Later in our trip we ran across some of THE worst traffic issues I have ever seen. We were stuck for an hour just trying to get off the highway up an offramp due to an accident that had closed down a LARGE portion of the highway. It was certainly interesting.

Not to mention that we bought a truck with NO back seat so Johnny, our 17 year old son, is riding in the front seat with us for the whole long drive anytime we travel. We may have to come up with some new ideas or solutions for this because though I love him dearly he does nothing but complain for the whole ride about being bored and uncomfortable. That makes a 9 hour trip into a very VERY long ride. At some point though at least he got tired and managed to sleep for a while, of course so did I.

Arrival was not the big to-do that I had wanted it to be. I was exhausted and for some strange reason had lost my voice almost completely. So we visited for a bit and John soon went into the camper to get some sleep. I stayed out a bit longer to visit with Carrie and her beautiful daughter but was not far behind John and then we all napped for a few hours.

I’m excited to be in Indiana. It’s just beautiful here. Of course I barely have internet in the camper because it is so far from the main house and there is NO cell phone signal here but it will be a restful and hopefully productive week. Tomorrow I’m going to take the computer into the house and do some searching for campers and catch up with other work that has been put off for far too long online due to the wifi being down at the campground for a week prior to our leaving.

I’ve already been taking photos of all the animals that Carrie has and of the landscape. It’s just so pretty. I’m hoping to get some nice photos of the property because Carrie would love for John to paint it but we don’t have the supplies right now so maybe he can do it from photos and memory later on.

(picture removed)

The picture above is the heard of miniature horses that Carrie has on a full gallop headed for the other side of the pasture. It was so cool to be right there when they decided to all break into a run and the sound of it is just breathtaking. I sure hope they do that a few more times while I’m here.

Johnny has already gone fishing and, as we suspected, has realized he doesn’t really have the patience for fishing but I’m hoping that they will learn to enjoy going out there to try. (They being Carrie’s daughter and my son)

(picture removed)

100_1886Noita is very happy and seems to be enjoying herself. She is getting along fine with the other animals and with Carrie and her family. I think she will be ok when we leave and she stays here. We are adjusting her slowly and for a few days she will continue to sleep in the camper with us but I’m hoping that within a few days we will have her sleeping in the house so she is adjusted to that idea before we go.

However she did spend all day outside and had two bones at her disposal so she was in 7th heaven today. And I think she is going to be just as happy over the next few days. Carrie’s husband made some comments about how she will have soup bones all the time and for Noita that is about all it takes to make her a very happy old dog.

Well I will try to put up another post later in the week to let you know how the camper search is going and maybe share some more photos of our time here. Also to let you know when we will be leaving for Missouri and how the truck repairs go. For me this is all very exciting as it means we are once again kind of free and that always makes me feel oh so much better.

take care and be well.

About Tracy Seekins

Be the Change you want to see in the world!
This entry was posted in 4 - Our Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment